Lillian's Blog

May 28, 2015

Mental and Verbal Reading

Filed under: Uncategorized — register1 @ 9:46 pm

It’s actually tempting for me to solely read silently, which is reading in my mind. I think, okay, I wrote the chapter and it’s completed after editing, but I also understand that I can’t take a short cut. Even when I feel that a chapter within the whole manuscript doesn’t need a second view, I cannot edit the next chapter until I read it out loud.

I think mind reading is to expand more creative thoughts before including some of it on paper and verbal reading is more towards making the writing comprehensible. I have three ways to give clarification.

One, I think of a manuscript as a thick object that contains words as if it’s pieces of metals that can make a sound when it passes through a metal detector. If something is off, meaning a grammatical error, syntax, redundancy, and/or sequences, then the sound will be alerted by voice when read out loud.

Second, I think verbal reading gives structure to the pages as if it was puzzle pieces and mental reading gives structure as if it was the board itself. Doing both silent reading and verbal reading makes the chapter come together and hold has a complete puzzle on the board.

Third, I view verbal reading as literally reading it through like an important letter or a contract just to make sure that the content isn’t confusing and made clear.

Once reading it out loud, the chapter is moving easily such as a paragraph that was meant to be shifted somewhere else is moved to its rightful place on the page.

Writers should not confuse this explanation with the artistic approach. I believe every author, especially those who write fiction, have their own style of writing and overall rhetorical approach, but I also think every author can make a wise guess when the story is in conflict with unnecessary errors. First be creative and then read it as a prose. With verbal and mental reading, one is needed for a certain element to strengthen the manuscript and the use of both tactics maximizes the evolution of the manuscript.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

